Aranis

Aranis is a group that devotes its time to creating and performing new, adventurous music.

The music is filled with contrasts and opposing themes.
It's dark and light at the same time. It's beautiful and nasty, simple and complex. It has a personality of its own and nevertheless you can hear the influences from a multitude of different genres and styles. Never heard before and yet recognisable.

It is through the combination of these opposing themes and influences that emerges a contemporary and vibrant sort of music with a very unique character.

Aranis is composed of a core of five impassioned musicians. Depending on the project Aranis is working on, they call upon guest musicians to complete the sound. The main characteristics of their performances are a delicate and dynamic orchestration in which they constantly search for a fresh and lively rendition.

Aranis
Liesbeth Lambrecht: violin, viola
Marjolein Cools: accordion
Stijn Denys: guitar
Jana Arns: transverse flute, voice
Joris Vanvinckenroye: contrabass & composition

Aranis has released five full albums: Aranis I, Aranis II, Aranis III, Aranis IV & ...AranisV! Next to that there have also been a vinyl album and a small side project CD (Hidden Soundscapes).

Aranis I: Acoustic Chamber Rock (2005)
From their debut album the Aranis style is immediately apparent. A diversity of musical genres and currents are combined into something entirely new.

Aranis II: Music For an imaginary film (2007)
The second Aranis album was logical follow-up to the first one. It confirms the very personal Aranis style and sound. The compositions and orchestrations have further evolved in delicacy and complexity.

Single: Hidden soundscapes (2007)
Some works that came out of a collaboration with flutist Toon Fret.

Vinylplaat (2008)
A selection of the best out of Aranis I and Aranis II

Aranis III: Songs from mirage (2009)
The third full CD of Aranis sounds totally different from earlier recordings. To the instrumental ensemble three female voices were added. This has only reinforced their adventurous music with more power and scope. The music has gained in intensity, sensitivity and dynamics. 'Songs from Mirage' is a musical journey without intermezzo's. It only ends when the last notes fade away. With guest musicians Els van Laethem, Anne Marie Honggokoessoemo, Herlinde Ghekiere (voices), Linde de Groof (violin), Els Vrints (piano)/ Ward De Vleeschhouwer (piano)

Aranis IV: RoqueForte (2010)
The basic Aranis line-up will became enriched with percussion. This gave the music a rough edge, but made it all the more beautiful. Dark melodies exchanged with threatening rythms, raw solo pieces contrast with enthralling improvisations.
With guest musicians David Kerman (percussion), Stefan Wellens (viola) en Pierre Chevalier (piano).

Aranis V: Made in Belgium (2012)

For the first time Aranis plays compositiosn of other related Belgian composers! Composers as Daniel Denis (UZ), Roger Trigaux (Present), Geert Waegeman (Cro Magnon), Dick Van der Harst, Wim Mertens, Jan Kycken (Louis Avenue), Joris Vanvinckenroye, Ward De Vleeschhouwer, Luc De Gezelle, Arne Van Dongen and Wouter Vandenabeele! Listen to some extracts on this site!!!

Aranis VI: Made in Belgium II (release fall 2014)

Aranis, year 2014: a Belgian band that brings something definitely off the beaten tracks! The second installment in their "Made in Belgium" series (aka MIB 2) is now on the road...and it's more captivating than a thriller! In it, a subtle blend of rejuvenated classical influences mix with (aming other things and with no specific order) a touch of drumless/ clarinetless Balkanic Klezmer- punk, a glimpse of 100% Brussels- deserts tango and a few improvised moments that manage to never really sound like "jazz"...No easy label comes to mind when it comes to describe Aranis' sound...and so its should be! A pretty unpredictable sextet...Classical? Jazz? Folk? Rock?...Well, a little bit of all this...That's what you'll taste in the Aranis pizza! So, why wouldn't you treat your ears and get a slice of it? With real chunks of Peter Vermeersch (FES), Koen Van Roy (Cro Magnon), Walter Hus (Maximalist!), Ananta Roosens (La sieste du dromadaire), Aurélie Dorzée (Aurélia) and many others...

Groupe

Aranis est un groupe dévoué à la création et l’interprétation d’une musique nouvelle et aventureuse.

Leur musique est plein de contradictions : elle est sombre et légère à la fois. Elle est belle et rugueuse, simple et complexe. Elle a une grande originalité et vous pouvez néanmoins entendre l’influence d’une multitude de genres et de styles. Jamais entendue jusqu’alors et quand-même familière.

C’est en combinant ces contradictions et ces influences apparentes, que se manifeste une musique contemporaine et entraînante au caractère bien particulier. 

Aranis est composé d'un noyau dur de six musiciens passionnés. Ils invitent d'autres musiciens au sein du groupe en fonction du projet en cours et du son recherché. Leurs performances se caractérisent principalement par un jeu et une orchestration dynamiques et raffinés. Le groupe cherche en permanence à atteindre l'interprétation la plus fraîche et la plus vivante.

Aranis

Liesbeth Lambrecht: violon
Marjolein Cools: accordéon
Stijn Denys: guitare
Jana Arns: flûte traversière
Joris Vanvinckenroye: contrebasse et composition 
Pierre Chevalier: piano

Aranis a réalisé six albums : Aranis I, Aranis II, Aranis III, Aranis IV, Aranis V et....Aranis VI ! En parallèle, il y a également eu un album vinyl et un petit projet spécifique (Hidden Soundscapes). 

Aranis I : Acoustic Chamber Rock (2005) 

Dès ses débuts, Aranis affiche tout de suite son style particulier. Une diversité de genres, tendances et styles  se rejoignent pour créer une musique entièrement nouvelle. 

Aranis II: Music For an imaginary film (2007) 

Le deuxième album est une suite logique du premier. Le son caractéristique et très personnel est confirmé. Les compositions et les interprétations ont gagné en subtilité et complexité. 

Single: Hidden soundscapes (2007) 

Quelques compositions, fruit de la collaboration avec le flutiste Toon Fret.

Vinyl (2008) 

Une sélection des meilleurs morceaux de Aranis I et Aranis II  

Aranis III: Songs from mirage (2009) 

Le troisième album d’Aranis sonne très différemment des enregistrements précédents. Trois chanteuses ont rejoint le groupe instrumental.  Cet ajout a renforcé le caractère aventureux de leur musique, avec plus de puissance et d’envergure. La musique est devenue plus intense, plus sensible, plus dynamique. ‘Songs From Mirage’ est un parcours musical qui est conçu et s'écoute sans interruption. L'histoire ne prend fin qu'au moment où les dernières notes s'envolent. ?Avec comme invités: Els van Laethem, Anne Marie Honggokoessoemo, Herlinde Ghekiere (voix), Linde de Groof (violon), Els Vrints (piano)/ Ward De Vleeschhouwer (piano) ?   

Aranis IV: RoqueForte (2010)

La liste des instruments d’Aranis s’enrichit de la percussion. La musique en devient plus rauque (rock), mais plus belle que jamais. Des mélodies sombres alternent avec des rythmes menaçants, des solos intenses et des improvisations engageantes. ? Avec comme invités: David Kerman (percussion), Stefan Wellens (alto) et Pierre Chevalier (piano).  

Aranis V: Made in Belgium (2012)

Pour la première fois, Aranis joue les compositions d’autres compositeurs belges renommés! Daniel Denis (UZ), Roger Trigaux (Présent), Geert Waegeman (Cro Magnon), Dick Van der Harst, Wim Mertens, Jan Kycken (Louise Avenue), Joris Vanvinckenroye, Ward De Vleeschhouwer, Luc De Gezelle, Arne Van Dongen and Wouter Vandenabeele! Ecoutez-en quelques extraits sur ce site !!!

Aranis VI: Made in Belgium II (2014)

Aranis, an de grâce 2014: un groupe belge qui sort de l'ordinaire! Leur nouveau projet 'Made in Belgium II' ('MIB 2' en version abrégée) est plus captivant qu'un film. La musique classique s'y trouve dépoussiérée et rajeunie; s'y mêlent, dans le désordre et ente autres choses, un soupcon de kletzmer punk balkanique (mais sans batterie ni clarinette); un zeste de tango des grandes étendues bruxelloises et quelques envols improvisatoires sans être jamais totalement jazzy...Bref, aucune étiquette ne suffit a décrire la musique d'Aranis...et c'est bien comme ca! Ce sextet n'en fait qu'a sa tête..;Classique? Jazz? Folk? Rock?...Autant d'ingrédients qui trouveront sans peine leur place dans la pizza Aranis! Venez donc vous y frotter les papilles auditives! Avec des compositions de Peter Vermeersch (FES), Koen Van Roy (Cro Magnon), Walter Hus (Maximalist!), Ananta Roosens (La sieste du dromadaire), Aurélie Dorzée (Aurélia) et bien d'autres...



Copyright 2017 - Maarten Lambrecht